If your Skydio drone has very little space left on either its microSD card (Skydio 2) or internal drive (Skydio R1), you may wish to follow these suggestions to troubleshoot or clear up space:

For Skydio 2

To delete individual flights

When you need additional space, you can offload your media either to a computer or mobile device. You can save entire videos (which will not merge the recorded audio) or create clips from full videos (which will merge the recorded audio) and save to your phone through the Media tab of the Skydio 2 app. You can also manually remove the SD card and mount it to your computer (using a micro SD card adapter) to save all recorded media.

Once your media is saved, you can delete individual flights by connecting your Skydio 2 to the Skydio 2 app, opening the Media tab, selecting the video you wish to delete and choosing the trash can button. You can select multiple videos using the Select button in the top right corner, and delete all selected videos at the simultaneously.

Note: Skydio 2 must be connected to the Skydio app in order to access media. Any media deleted from the app will be PERMANENTLY removed from the SD card.

To delete all flights and flight data (reformat)

If you’d like to permanently erase all content at once from your Skydio 2:

1. Connect your Skydio 2 via WiFi to the Skydio 2 app. Once the app is open, tap on the Info tab.

2. Select your Skydio 2 from the Devices list, then select Manage Data.

3. You’ll see two options: Format Media and Factory Reset

  • Format Media: Permanently deletes all flight media and files from both your Skydio 2's SD card and your phone.
  • Factory Reset: Troubleshooting step only! Permanently deletes all flight data and files from both your Skydio 2 (and your phone) and resets all Skydio 2 internal settings to factory defaults.
1.png

4. If you select Format Media, you’ll be asked to confirm the action.

5. Selecting Format Media will permanently delete all flight data and files from both your Skydio 2 and your phone.

2.png

6. If you select Factory Reset, you’ll be asked to confirm the action.

7. Factory Reset should be considered a troubleshooting step only and will permanently delete all flight data and files from both your Skydio 2 and your phone, and additionally resets all Skydio 2 internal settings to factory defaults.

3.png

For Skydio R1

To delete individual flights

When you need additional space, you can offload and backup your flights via USB-C to your computer (or external drive), and then delete individual flights from the Videos tab within the Skydio app. After your flights have been backed up, disconnect your R1 from your computer. From within the Videos tab, select Edit in the upper right corner, select the flight(s) you wish to delete, then tap the trashcan icon.

Notes:

  • This step will permanently erase your flight(s) from both the Skydio app and your R1.
  • You can perform this step when disconnected, but it will only delete the flight preview file from your phone. After you next connect to your R1 with your phone, that flight will also be deleted on R1.
  • The reverse of the above process will permanently delete flight files as well: if you delete flights manually from your R1 while it is connected to your computer (or an external drive) via USB-C, those same flights will be deleted from the Skydio app on your phone when you next connect to R1 via WiFi.

 

To delete all flights and flight data (reformat)

If you’d like to permanently erase all content at once from your R1:

1. Connect to your R1 via WiFi, then open the Skydio app and tap on the Settings tab.

2. Select your R1 from the Vehicles list, then select Reset.

3. You’ll see two options: Delete All Flights and Delete All R1 Data.

  • Delete All Flights: Permanently deletes all flight data and files from both your R1 and your phone.
  • Delete All R1 Data: Troubleshooting step only! Permanently deletes all flight data and files from both your R1 (and your phone) and resets all R1 internal settings to factory defaults.
1.png

4. Selecting Delete All Flights will permanently delete all flight data and files from both your R1 and your phone.

5. You’ll be asked to confirm the action.

2.png

6. Delete All R1 Data should be considered a troubleshooting step only and will permanently delete all flight data and files from both your R1 and your phone, and additionally resets all R1 internal settings to factory defaults.

7. You’ll be asked to confirm the operation.

3.png

Note that your total available storage will be displayed as 63.9 GB after the reformat, as system files take up a little space on the internal storage.

 

Check out our related articles for more information - and don't hesitate to contact us if you need any help!