How to erase flights and reformat your R1

If your R1 has very little space left on its internal drive, you may wish to follow these steps to troubleshoot or clear up space:

To delete individual flights

When you need additional space, you can offload and backup your flights via USB-C to your computer (or external drive), and then delete individual flights from the Videos tab within the Skydio app. After your flights have been backed up, disconnect your R1 from your computer. From within the Videos tab, select Edit in the upper right corner, select the flight(s) you wish to delete, then tap the trashcan icon.

 Videos-delete-Bleriot.png

Notes:

  • This step will permanently erase your flight(s) from both the Skydio app and your R1.
  • You can perform this step when disconnected, but it will only delete the flight preview file from your phone. After you next connect to your R1 with your phone, that flight will also be deleted on R1.
  • The reverse of the above process will permanently delete flight files as well: if you delete flights manually from your R1 while it is connected to your computer (or an external drive) via USB-C, those same flights will be deleted from the Skydio app on your phone when you next connect to R1 via WiFi.

 

To delete all flights and flight data (reformat)

If you’d like to permanently erase all content at once from your R1:

1. Connect to your R1 via WiFi, then open the Skydio app and tap on the Settings tab.

2. Select your R1 from the Vehicles list, then select Reset.

3. You’ll see two options: Delete All Flights and Delete All R1 Data

  • Delete All Flights: Permanently deletes all flight data and files from both your R1 and your phone.
  • Delete All R1 Data: Troubleshooting step only! Permanently deletes all flight data and files from both your R1 (and your phone) and resets all R1 internal settings to factory defaults.
1.Settings-erase-Bleriot.png

4. Selecting Delete All Flights will permanently delete all flight data and files from both your R1 and your phone.

5. You’ll be asked to confirm the action.

2.Settings-erase-Bleriot.png

6. Delete All R1 Data should be considered a troubleshooting step only and will permanently delete all flight data and files from both your R1 and your phone, and additionally resets all R1 internal settings to factory defaults.

7. You’ll be asked to confirm the operation.

3.Settings-erase-Bleriot.png

Note that your total available storage will be displayed as 63.9 GB after the reformat, as system files take up a little space on the internal storage.

Check out our related articles for more information - and don't hesitate to contact us if you need any help!